Board Members at Helping Hand – call 1300 653 600

Board Members

Board Members

The Helping Hand Board gives an independent view of governance and ensures we are performing to the highest level to meet client needs. The Board meets monthly.

Board director Brenda Wilson

Professor Brenda Wilson AM

Board Chair since August 2020

Professor Wilson is the Lieutenant Governor of South Australia and the Chair of the Clinical Quality and Innovation Committee at SA Health. She serves on several boards and committees, including roles as a director of the Women’s and Children’s Health Network, and the Adelaide Community Health Care Alliance (ACHA). She is also a member of the Flinders University Council and Executive Council and an adjunct Professor at Flinders University and UniSA.

Professor Wilson is widely known for having served as Chief Executive at Cancer Council SA from 2003 to 2015, and has significant experience managing health services, together with a deep understanding of the aged care sector.

Chief Executive Officer Chris Stewart

Chris Stewart, CEO

Chris Stewart joined Helping Hand as CEO in 2019.

He has over 25 years of executive level leadership experience across various commercial sectors including professional services, financial services and healthcare. His most recent position was as Managing Director of Hood Sweeney, where he consulted extensively to clients on business growth, strategy and corporate governance.

Chris was a board member of Helping Hand for nine years and chaired the Finance & Property committee from 2012-2015. He is currently a SA regional committee member of the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust and a board member of Windmill Theatre. He has served on a range of other boards and committees, predominantly in the not for profit sector.

His qualifications include BSc (Hons); MBA; Diploma (AICD); Diploma of Financial Services; Level 1 Accredited Executive coach.

Chris is passionate about leadership and bringing his commercial and consulting expertise to ensure the growth and on-going success of Helping Hand.

Board director Erica Benn

Erica Benn

Board Member since January 2015

Erica has a background in marketing and communications having worked both in Australia and the UK. Erica is an Assistant Director for the Australian Financial Security Authority and had previous roles at St Peter’s College, the University of Adelaide, Health Workforce Australia, the BBC, the National Patient Safety Agency (part of the National Health Service) and the London Fire Brigade. She is a Board Director at the Community Business Bureau and is a Member of the OT Advisory Board at UniSA.

Board director Jason Cattonar

Jason Cattonar

Board Member since August 2015

Jason is a finance professional focussed on delivering strategic outcomes and strong corporate governance, is a qualified Chartered Accountant with more than 15 years of financial experience within international accounting firms, and large private and public companies. He is the CFO of Cobham Aviation Services, also a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountant, Taxation Institute of Australia and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Board director Julie Cooper

Julie Cooper

Board Member since October 2021

Julie is the Chair of Nova Systems Pty Ltd, a major engineering and technology company, and is a Non-Executive Director at Credit Union SA. She is an Advisory Board Member for the Sarah Group, one of South Australia’s most successful construction companies; and is a Board Member of the Adelaide Crows Foundation. Julie is also a member of the National Council of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD).

A former Management Consultant for the global consulting firm, McKinsey & Company, she has supported clients in sectors including health, defence, retail, and oil & gas, and has worked in Australia, the UK, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Prior to joining McKinsey, Julie worked for BAE Systems (Australia and UK) and also worked in the banking and brewing sectors in South Australia.

Board director Janet Finlay

Janet Finlay

Board Member since October 2021

Janet is an experienced independent company director with a strong commercial and finance background across a range of industries. A chartered accountant and former partner of Big 4 accounting firm EY, she has extensive experience in leadership, governance, business development, financial management and reporting, risk management and stakeholder engagement. Janet’s other board roles include SA Water Corporation, SA Football Commission, University of Adelaide, St John Ambulance SA and the Libraries Board SA.

Board director John Harvey

Dr John Harvey

Board Member since February 2020

John is currently Chair of Adelaide based Can:Do Group, which provides services to people who are vision or hearing impaired. He is also Chair of Studio Nine Architects, and Rural Business Support, Non-Executive Director of the National Youth Mental Health Network, Stellan Capital, and Revenir Winemaking and Trustee for the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust (SA) and the South Australian Grain Industry Trust.

Board director Angela Scarino

Professor Angela Scarino

Board Member since October 2018

Angela is Associate Professor in Applied Linguistics and Director of the Research Centre for Languages and Cultures, University of South Australia. She is currently the Chair of the Multicultural Education and Languages Committee, an advisory committee on languages and multicultural education to the Minister for Education and Child Development in South Australia.

Board director Craig Whitehead

Dr Craig Whitehead

Board Member since January 2008

Craig is a staff specialist in geriatric medicine and Chair of the Client Care sub-committee. He is also a member of the Flinders University Department of Rehabilitation and Aged Care, an active clinician in public and private practice and a Member of the Aged Care Advisory Committee that advises the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee about aged care policy related to COVID-19.